Ruby to Release ‘Rise of the Ruby Empire’ Compilation, Welcomes New Signee John Boy

Cover art for "Ruby Presents: Rise of the Ruby Empire"
Cover art for "Ruby Presents: Rise of the Ruby Empire"

Ruby Recordings will be rolling out a star-studded compilation album called Rise of the Ruby Empire. The 14-track set hosts hits from esteemed veteran rappers like Dave Mac (“My Way” featuring Trizzy), Jerry Fequiere (“Beats to ‘Em”) and Jeuice (“Plan B”) as well as buzzy newcomers Crisis (“Life” featuring Easie DaGreat & D-Pain), 9000 (“Mama”) and latest signee John Boy (“Rock Star” featuring Trizzy).

The rapper — who reps both his native Buffalo and second home Atlanta — delivered Internet favorites like his 2015 EP GEESH and this year’s GEESH 2  EP (standouts from the projects included “Squares Out Your Circle” and the Fredo Santana-assisted “Miss Me”). He also notched a collaboration with Drake on the Toronto MC’s “Star67,” off 2015’s If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late.

“I’m honored to be part of the Ruby family,” he tells Onewest over e-mail. “To contribute to a legacy & brand that has created history with some of my favorite artists is a blessing. Ruby prides itself on authenticity & I couldn’t have found a better home.”

To celebrate his signing, John also dropped off the semi-animated visual for his moody number “Check Mate.”

“I wanted to capture the vibe of “Check Mate” visually, and I think we executed providing a journey, a sense of no looking back,” he adds. “We kept it minimal to allow you, the viewer to create your own narrative.”

He will also be streaming the video on his website, and gifting exclusive t-shirts to fans who sign up to the mailing list.

Peep the tracklist for Rise of the Ruby Empire (due Sept. 11) and John Boy’s “Check Mate” video below.

1.       Dave Mac ft. Trizzy “My Way”
2.       Easie DaGreat “On My S**t”
3.       JT Holmes ft. D-Pain “How I Live”
4.       Crisis ft Easie DaGreat & D-Pain “Life”
5.       Trizzy “My Weight Up”
6.       Trizzy ft. Easie DaGreat & D-Pain “Number One”
7.       Michael Wavves ft. Trizzy, Easie DaGreat & D-Pain “I Can’t Talk To You”
8.       Young Pyro ft. D-Pain & Easie DaGreat “My Shoes”
9.       Haitian Fresh ft. Easie DaGreat & D-Pain “Million Ways”
10.     John Boy ft. Trizzy “Rock Star”
11.     Jerry Fequirere “Beats to ‘Em”
12.     Jeuice “My Shoes”
13.     Isa Blaque ft. Easie DaGreat, Trizzy & D-Pain “Stacking That Bread”
14.     9000 “Mama”

Our artist @JohnBoy dropped a new video & "Check Mate" ! Check it out now on

A post shared by Ruby Recordings (@rubyrecordings) on

About Marissa Medina 5 Articles
Marissa Medina is a Sr. Publicist and freelance writer for several media outlets including The Source Magazine and, Her unique writing style has landed her several viral articles and recognition in the media arena.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.